Tags

, , , , ,

Anime Paint

For the past three years, this blog and its readers had been so good to me. Just by rambling about Japanese cartoons, I discovered a lot of fascinating stuff and encountered many interesting people. More than anything else, I’m thankful for the fun memories that I gained and lessons that I learned.

I have mentioned in my few posts that most of my in real life friends don’t watch anime, that’s why I’m glad how this blog allowed me to cultivate my anime fandom and let me freely express my thoughts without the fear of being out of place and being segregated.

I could still clearly remember how reluctant I was to start blogging. Would I hear another voice back or would I only hear myself echoing? Good thing I never let hesitation consume me. Not only I was able to do what I want, I also gained friends who share the same passion—readers who in the long run became casual commenters and fellow anime enthusiasts whom I had a chance to watch shows with.

Further, it was so humbling to know that somebody appreciates my articles because I care deeply and put a lot of effort into my posts. Most of all, it was incredibly heartwarming to know that I could inspire readers to blog without even realising. For me, that is the highest compliment that I could ever receive as a blogger. Writing is truly fun and mystical.

Honey and Clover

But of course, not all things stay the same way. Even though I refused to fully acknowledge, a new chapter of my life is already fast starting. As readers of this blog may have noticed, I’m writing less and less.

Not too long ago, I went to the US and traveled to Asia. In those places, I met travelers who were just like me—recent grads and young professionals. And just like me, they felt the need to travel because they wanted to explore the world and make up for those times that they could not. It was a truly awesome and refreshing break—it’s like I was in this highly-addictive-whimsy YOLO state.

With that being said, I was reminded of my old posts.

Most of my articles are about observations and how I admire the beautiful things in anime like landscapes, architectures, and cultures. Now that I secured a career and held a spot for graduation, the more eager I am to see the world… And next thing I knew, I’m tired of looking at my computer screen and reading books. This time, I want to experience what I saw and what I read, AND become the character of the next great plot that I’m going to uncover.

Come to think of it… did anybody know what happened to Yui, Mio, Ritsu, Mugi, and Asuza after they finished high school? How did the characters of Honey and Clover live their lives after university? What about the girls of Strawberry Panic?

Haibane Renmei - Rakka

One of the reasons why I loved watching anime is because oftentimes I could relate to the story. So perhaps most anime ends when the character is in his/her prime because it is a way of telling the viewers that once the story finishes, it’s finally up to them to continue the journey. Truly it’s hard to let go, but it’s even harder to remain stuck. We all have to face our own day of flight at some point.

Quite a few people asked me if I’m still going to aniblog. My answer was uncertain.

I didn’t lose my interest to blog, I just happened to find a new passion and acquire different priorities. It’s possible that I may write again after a week, months, years… or most probably, not at all anymore. I don’t want to close this blog because I would like to think that there’s this one spot where I can always come back… after all, this is my beloved website.

Once again, I would like to thank my readers and online friends for turning my posts into conversations, and for turning these conversations into memories worth cherishing.

K-On!

P.S. I’m awfully sentimental, I must admit. But oh well…

________________________________

A few more updates:

  • I may be behind, but I still love Chihayafuru. Chihaya, Shinobu, and Rion are so hng~♥
  • Another thing that I haven’t done for such a long time is playing yuri VNs. I really miss that.
  • It’s late to say this, but yay! my blog turned three years old.
  • For those who have noticed… I didn’t close my blog, it was suspended by mistake according to WordPress.
