Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Having only three series on my winter anime cart, I have been re-reading lately some of the mangas that I’m regularly checking for new releases. One of these is the nice but fairly sad story of Kimi Koi Limit, a yuri manga.

While the plot is a somewhat clichéd bizarre love triangle, I’m really enjoying reading Kimi Koi Limit mainly because it’s nicely drawn, well-paced, emotionally engaging, and stimulatingly expressive.  It also doesn’t have that heavy atmosphere because comical fluffs are being thrown in before the drama fully consumed the reader. Also, the conflict is simple but how it’s being delivered is so engaging.

As a brief overview, Sono confessed to Satomi and got rejected. After that, Satomi left for Tokyo to study in a university. Subsequently, Sono followed Satomi and went to Tokyo as well. Over there, as she piteously wandered around the city, she met her soon to be girlfriend Hiroko—a university student who also happened to attend Satomi’s school. However, despite being in a relationship, Sono still continuously craved for Satomi. Until one day, they met again and because of this, much tangled events await.

To be honest, although Sono is so immature, I still pity her but not as much as how I feel sorry for Hiroko. It’s so hard for me to understand what is so addicting with agony that some people can’t get enough and even chase after it. Indeed, for some it pays off, but for most part, misery is just like reaching for a plain dead end—which can be clearly seen in Hiroko’s standpoint.

So if there’s someone that I can grasp on this series, that would be Satomi. She’s that cool and care-free person who can easily brush aside all the seriousness. But when she broke down and cried, that moment was so poignant and realistic that I could easily identify her pain and fear. That’s because for most part, people are afraid of change and stepping out of that friend zone especially if the relationship is not too well accepted and if friendship is at risk. It’s also so touching to see how Satomi’s bottled up feelings and unspoken desires are like gravity—no matter how hard she resists, her last move is always to fall.

Furthermore, what I really find interesting while reading this manga is the notion of exclusivity of love, as they say “three’s a crowd”. This is a bittersweet story because one of the girls would surely end up lonely. So whenever I read these love triangle plotlines, these always make me wonder how come romantic love only involves two people, not three, not four, not five… So what happened to the notion of the more the merrier? Hence, what is so special and intimate with being a “couple” when it comes to romance?

My curiosity always brings me back to the binary world. Aristotle’s geometry of love tells that love is composed of a single soul inhabiting two bodies. So, the notion of complementariness or that other half suggested that a person can be filled simplest by one entity—your soulmate.  Plus, my functionalist side argues that a person can only maximize the use of his/her parts if they are dedicated and focused solely on one object of desire. For instance, you can lock lips only one at a time, likewise with your eyes which can only look at one thing. Hence, it seems like we are designed to perfectly match and fit with somebody.

For example, because Sono was thinking about Satomi while making love with Hiroko, she couldn’t help but to scream for Satomi’s name as she climaxed.

Initially, I wanted to laugh when I saw this scene, Sono was trying to multi-task and screwed up big-time, but then I realized how humiliated Hiroko felt that’s why I ended up feeling remorseful.

So despite the angsts and with one chapter left, I guess pretty much it’s quite evident that we’re heading to a dokidoki ending. I’m also so excited to see more of Satomi’s sensitive and sweet side. As for Hiroko, I wish all the best for her and hopefully she’ll find somebody who would respect and love her as well.

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

Side Note:

  • I may sound so eccentric and ridiculous on this post, but I’m really curious what’s up with the number two and the composition of the binary world.
  • Prism is another yuri manga that I’m reading, it’s much more light-hearted.